Recent crochet adventures

Hello! Sorry that I’ve been the worst about new posts these past couple days. This is the first second I’ve had to myself pretty much since last sunday. However, I’ve been watching what’s been going on here, and WOW! All it took was one repost of my t-shirt yarn tutorial and all of a sudden my traffic has gone up almost 400%! It’s been making my day, receiving all of your comments and likes on my posts, so THANK YOU!

 

So here’s my biggest thing: I finished my bulky yellow rug!! I’d gotten it finished sometime last week but am just now getting around to having pictures to show you, so here it is:

Image

II ended up using all five of the skeins I had from that sweater, & it measures about three feet across. I used lionbrand hometown USA yarn for the yellow, and for the ends i actually combined two yarns that were slightly less bulky, to give it the extra thickness it needed to match the other yarn, and it also gives it a nice variance in color. I’m in love with it, but i’m hoping to put it up in my etsy shop. (don’t ask, it’s not up yet!) I was thinking of pricing it at around 75$. does that sound like too much?

 

Also this week, i’ve been making a bunch of baskets. In addition to the deep dish looking basket i made out of the t-shirt yarn from the tutorial, i made another t-shirt bowl/basket for blueberry picking. (our 13 bushes are finally ready!!!)

Image

 

i also used up some nasty bulky acrylic yarn i had to make a flimsy basket-type thing. I used two different colors, to create the look i’ve started calling “blueberries & cream”

Image

whatcha think? 

 

Lastly, i wanted to share this pattern with you guys, of something that i made last night. The pattern comes from Alli Crafts blog, and i loved it so much, i couldn’t wait to give you the link! http://allicrafts.blogspot.com/2010/10/free-pattern-star-hook-case.html.

This case is super easy to make. once i worked out the basic pattern and figured out what i was doing wrong, it took me about an hour to make the whole thing. After showing off mine at work, a friend requested that i make one for her paintbrushes! Yay! I love spreading the joy of crochet with everyone i love :) 

 

What have ya’ll been crocheting lately?

About jlstotts

I'm a 19 year-old crocheter bouncing back & forth between by Chapel Hill and Boone, NC, depending on the season.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recent crochet adventures

  1. Maggie says:

    Love the rug! $75 is not a weird price at all, I should say.

  2. diamond says:

    $75 is a good price! Could probably price it more with different colors crocheted into it!

Leave a Reply

